DERRY TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Minutes, May 5, 2015 Regular Meeting

7:00 p.m.

Vincent DeCario, Chairman, called the regular meeting of the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to order held in the Municipal Building at 5321 Route 982, Derry, PA at 7:00 p.m. and lead the group with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to adjourn the previous meeting.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes Motion carried.

Members present were: David Slifka, James Prohaska, and Vincent DeCario-Supervisors; Terry Giannini, Code Enforcement Officer; and Krisha Mackulin, Solicitor

The meeting was open to the public for comments: Sargent Ryan Maher, Station Commander Pennsylvania State Police, Kiski Valley Station, attended this meeting to offer statistics as to what is going on within the Township. Sargent Maher asked for a moment of silence for Lt. Eric Eslary who lost his life this morning. Sargent Maher gave an updated report on the incidents in the Township compared to last year. The incidents are down approximately 25% over last year. Any residents are welcome to contact the State Police if they have any questions.

Evelyn Roofing thanked the Supervisors for maintaining the Simpson Voting House. This voting poll is an historic site-the only one still in operation in the State and will be ready for Election Day, May 19th.

Randy Ankney again questioned the death benefit for his father and presented a death certificate. Solicitor Krisha Mackulin stated she has requested information from the insurance company and auditors and has not received it to date. Once the information is received a letter will be issued to the Ankney family. Krisha Mackulin stated personnel issued should not be discussed at public meetings but since Mr. Ankney was here it is a public topic. A discussion was held.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve Minutes of April 7, 2015.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes Motion carried.

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the payroll of April 9 and 23, 2015 for payment.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes Motion carried.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to approve the bills of April 8 and 22, 2015 for payment. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes Motion carried.

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve the Treasurer's Report for April 2015.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes Motion carried.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to accept the road material bids advertised by COG Indiana/Westmoreland and award contracts to the lowest bidders. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes Motion carried.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to hire part-time summer recreation help as needed and set the rate of pay between \$8.75 and \$8.25 per hour plus mileage.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes Motion carried.

Motion was made by David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to approve Resolution No. 553-2015 authorizing the appointment of a deputy tax collector in the Township of Derry. Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes Motion carried.

Motion was made David Slifka and seconded by James Prohaska to review the Frye Subdivision No. 2 located along Township Road 887 in Seger:

Approval of this plan does not constitute acceptance of the streets as dedicated and laid out on said plan until they are developed to the Township's specifications at which time formal written notice of acceptance of dedication will be delivered by the Derry Township Board of Supervisors to the developer.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes Motion carried.

Motion was made by James Prohaska and seconded by David Slifka to recess until Tuesday, June 2, 2015 at 7 p.m.

Voting: David Slifka-yes, James Prohaska-yes, and Vincent DeCario-yes Motion carried.